Michael G's Blog

Guest Speaker

Posted in Advanced Scripting by michaelg1980 on February 17, 2010

Excellent speaker. Kudos, Gina, for snagging him. 😀

I forgot his name, but his enthusiasm and dedication was most impressive.  The thing I came away with was “Love what you do and do it will all your heart.”  In a nutshell.  It sounds cliche to say it and write about it, but “being proactive” was what it boiled down to for me.  He said it more than once, “If you don’t love graphic design, get out of it.  It will eat you up if you don’t love it”  By extension, “If you don’t love web design, then get out…”  And, this is where I found myself in relation to the speaker.  He obviously loves what he does, and I know what I would love to do, and it’s not graphic or web design.  Though I’m sure graphic and web skills  will come in handy a little later.  No, I am not a designer.  I am an artist.  An educated artist.  It is my earnest and passionate intention to open and curate a gallery.  Doing this, I imagine I too will exude the same spark, the same energy, focus and power I saw in the speaker earlier today.

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” ~Howard Thurman

Leave a Reply

